The Department of Dermatology is accredited for a three-year residency training program to educate and train future dermatologists.

The Wayne State University Dermatology Residency Program has been in operation since 1937 and has trained over 200 residents and 25 research fellows. There are 12 Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME)-approved resident positions. The total passing rate for board certification in the past 20 years is about 96 percent. Non-dermatology residents as well as medical students are also eligible for clinical rotations in the department.

By the end of the Dermatology Residency Training Program at Wayne State University, through the integration of the six ACGME General Competencies and specific dermatology content, the resident will be able to practice competently and independently of this program through: 

  1. Working within the day-to-day structure and functions of the Department and development of a fundamental background knowledge in dermatology including: 
    1. Outpatient Dermatology 
    2. Surgical Dermatology 
    3. Dermatopathology
    4. Inpatient Dermatology 
    5. Pediatric Dermatology 
  2. Developing and building resident skills in dermatology through: 
    1. Use of various equipment required for appropriate investigation of dermatologic disease and treatment 
    2. Development of appropriate minor and complex surgical inpatient and outpatient techniques required as a practicing dermatologist 
    3. The use of various resources to study and develop an evidence-based practice for optimally treating patients with dermatologic diseases 
  3. Integration of the six ACGME General Competencies including: 
    1. Medical Knowledge (MK) 
    2. Patient Care (PC) 
    3. Interpersonal and Communication Skills (ICS) 
    4. Practice-Based Learning and Improvement (PBLI) 
    5. Professionalism (P)
    6. Systems-Based Practice (SBP) 
  4. Consistent annual improvement of performance scores on the American Board of Dermatology resident examinations.